Testimonials

We could not have asked for more from Timeworks. Not only did we receive a first-class timetable, the timetable was delivered far earlier than others that have been produced in the past. The professional, personal support and advice that Don provided was of the highest standard. We thoroughly recommend his services.
Rob Ransome
Assistant Headteacher, Ysgol Bryn Alyn, Wrexham (2020
Constructing a new timetable from scratch across two sites during Covid-19 lockdown was a challenge. However, Don worked tirelessly to ensure that the seemingly never-ending number of complexities associated with such a project were met. Having had an initial face to face meeting (pre-lockdown) to discuss the basic building blocks and non-negotiables, he maintained open channels of communication via phone, email and online meetings throughout the process, demonstrating flexibility and resilience to ensure all our needs were met. The outcome was a first-rate timetable. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Ian Rimmer
Principal, King James’s School, Huddersfield (2020)
"Having never timetabled before, Don taught me everything I needed to know. He has a vast understanding of curriculum design and timetabling. Don was available at all times to contact and he spent a number of days at our school. Nothing was a problem and our staff are really happy with the structure of the timetable for 2019-20. Thanks so much Don!"
Sam Jones
Deputy Headteacher - Buxton Community School (2019)
"I would recommend Timeworks unreservedly to any school wishing to outsource their timetable. Don met with myself and the Headteacher, and was able to put our vision into practice. He listened attentively to what we wanted, but also posed challenging questions which made us think about our requirements. Don is extremely personable I look forward to working with him again next year."
Julie Ablewhite
Business Manager – Penk Valley Academy Trust, Stafford (2019)
"Timeworks have delivered an excellent and professional service throughout the production of our timetable. Don has worked tirelessly to ensure that a tight deadline for the timetable production was met and the whole process was completed within 2 months from beginning to end. Our timetable involves a number of complexities to meet the diverse needs of our students, including an off-site provision and Post 16 partnership working with two other schools, but Don was able to accommodate these aspects and produce a high quality timetable. Don maintained regular contact with me throughout the process, finding solutions as problems arose and demonstrating flexibility in accommodating our requests. Don is highly knowledgeable about all aspects of Nova T6 and timetable construction, and our experience in using Timeworks has been extremely positive. I would therefore highly recommend him."
James Hudson
Senior Assistant Principal- Temple Moor High School, Leeds (2019)

More testimonials ...

“Following a disastrous experience with another company in 2018, we were quite apprehensive about outsourcing the construction of our timetable. Don’s calm, professional demeanour and his obvious attention to detail were apparent from our first meeting and certainly helped to allay the fears we had about sharing the responsibility of our timetable design and construction.
As a large split-site secondary school, our timetable construction process presents significant challenges. Don was flexible enough to adapt to our demands as well as being insightful in some of the solutions he was able to offer to alleviate some of these complexities.
Don’s knowledge and expertise were evident throughout our work together and always complemented by his willingness and desire to produce the best possible timetable for our students and staff. I would recommend him without hesitation to any colleague looking for support with their school timetable.”

– Matthew Flanagan – Deputy Headteacher – All Saints RC School, York (September 2019)

“Don was more than helpful at every stage of writing our timetable. We are a small school with many complexities that make the timetabling a real challenge. Don replied to every query rapidly and always beat his own timescales, even after a near catastrophic error (on the schools part) on the last day of term which meant he had to re-write large portions of the timetable. At all times he has acted with the utmost professionalism.”

– Kristian Moore – Assistant Headteacher – Appleby Grammar School (September 2019)

“Timeworks have offered an extremely professional service, being on hand to sort out any issues in a timely fashion, either over the phone, internet or in person. We were particularly pleased and impressed with the work they did with the school’s SIMS administrator to ensure the smooth implementation of the timetable, constantly on hand to assist someone who was new to the role. We will certainly be using Don and his team again next year!”

– Michael Shaw – Co-Principal, Buckswood School, Hastings. (September 2018)

“I took up position as headteacher at a 920 student secondary school, in April 2018, and soon learnt that there was no draft timetable in place, following the sudden illness of our timetabler, so the job was substantial with a tight deadline. Don really did help us when we were in a difficult situation.

From our first meeting with Don, he was able to give us a number of variations of the timetable and always responded quickly and professionally to our requests and concerns. The timetable was in place for the new academic year and is running smoothly.

I would recommend Timeworks to all educational settings. You will receive a fast and professional service to ensure the smooth running of your school.”

– Nicola Caley – Headteacher, Murray Park School, Derby. (September 2018)

“We have never outsourced our timetable and were a little nervous about having someone work on it who did not know our school, our staff and our ways, but we need not have worried. Don was so supportive from the outset and worked closely with us to look at things in a different way and offer suggestions we hadn’t thought of before. He approached every step with genuine support and care, always wanting to help us to get the best possible timetable for our students and staff. His sense of humour and can-do attitude was incredibly welcome and we knew that we could ask his advice and get an honest, practical solution to any problem along the way. Knowing that we could email him with any question was so useful, but also having him attend meetings and 1-2-1s was invaluable.
We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Don to other schools and look forward to working with him in the future.”

– Kayley Button– Deputy Headteacher, Little Heath School, Reading. (August 2017)

“It has been an absolute pleasure to work with Don. He was quickly able to get an understanding of our particular needs and his knowledge about school management and curriculum matters enabled us to create a more balanced and efficient timetable. I was well guided through the process and Don understood the need to ensure we built capacity for the future ensuring training was given in a bespoke and timely manner. Always available on the phone, always available by email, always able to find a solution or provide you with options. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him.”

– Damian Booth – Headteacher, Carterton Community School, Oxfordshire. (August 2017)

“Don McGillivray has worked tirelessly to ensure our timetable meets our learners’ needs. He has been incredibly flexible and creative in his approach to working with us in creating a timetable that fits the specific requirements of our school. Without his knowledge and skill we would never had been able to put together the scheduling and Key Stage 4 options to allow our learners to access a truly broad and balanced curriculum offer.”

– Paul Wicken – Deputy Headteacher, The Martin High School, Anstey, Leicestershire. (August 2017)

“This is the first time we have used external help to complete the scheduling process and I did have some reservations about using someone who was unfamiliar with the school. I needn’t have worried. Don was an absolute pleasure to work with and he was able to quickly ‘get under the skin’ of the school and discuss proposed curriculum models and their costs and benefits. Don’s understanding of T6 is extensive and he was always available to talk through any issues, quick to turn around work and flexible enough to make last minute changes when necessary. The timetable process was completed to schedule and Don is readily accessible to work with me in order to make any in year changes if and when necessary. I am very happy with both the completed timetable, and the service offered during the process.”

– Mark Williams – Deputy Head, Ranelagh School. Bracknell. (August 2016)

“It has been fantastic to work with Don on our school’s timetable. The school’s curriculum is carefully tailored to meet the diverse interests and abilities of all groups of students and is designed to inspire them to do their very best. Don has been very organised, flexible and supportive to ensure our vision for the curriculum has become a reality by producing a timetable that enables this to happen. Our curriculum is very exciting which can make our timetable particularly challenging: we have deep learning international creative curriculum days at KS3, a range of pathways at KS4 and a new and growing Post 16 centre in which we offer the International Baccalaureate, A levels and Btec courses. Don has had a considered approach when addressing these elements and his own experience means that he views the production of the timetable from an educational perspective not just a functional one. Don has also been flexible in terms of communication and meetings too, which in a school environment is always helpful. When changes have had to be made, Don has always been solution focused. We hope to work with him again next year.”

– Navdeep Mand – Deputy Head, Eltham Hill School, London (August 2015)

“Having always had our timetable constructed by staff within our organisation we were anxious about outsourcing it. We found the process went very smoothly. Don is very accommodating and always quick to respond. We are more than happy with the work and will continue to use Don’s services.”

– Brigid Night – Deputy Head, Weaverham High School, Cheshire (August 2015)

“The Urswick School is an 11-19 Secondary School in the centre of Hackney. We have a highly personalised curriculum, including some mixed age classes and students off site. I approached Timeworks to create our timetable, including the first Year 13 cohort. I am very impressed with Don’s organisation, ability to grasp complex situations in a school he doesn’t know and calm approach to resolving problems that do arise. I recommend Timeworks without reservation.”

– Richard Brown – Headteacher, The Urswick School, Hackney. (August 2014)

“We have worked with Timeworks for the past two academic years and will continue to do so for many more. Don has a practical and flexible approach to timetabling and importantly ensures that he works very closely with us to construct a timetable to our exact specification! Don brings both his experience and objectivity as he is very knowledgeable.He listens carefully to our needs and translates them in to a range of possibilities before arriving at a final solution. Don always considers the wider range of influences on curriculum planning and offers advice for our future planning. Lastly, I have also been able to learn whilst working alongside Don as he is always happy to show me routines either when he visits the school or via the phone and is great in answering queries via email. Don is very reliable and I would not hesitate to recommend.”

– Melany Nelson, Deputy Headteacher, Kingsford Community School, Beckton, London (August 2014)

“Don was excellent support for The Grange School in preparing our timetable for 2013-14. This work coincided with a period of significant curriculum change for the school and from the outset Don was careful to ensure that he fully understood the objectives of these changes. This meant that any timetable created ably supported the school’s new vision and practically enabled new ideas to be implemented. Effective liaison work with both SLT and Curriculum Leaders was a crucial part of this process as it allowed for the timetable to be developed to the precise requirements of all, and made much easier the transition into new whole school curriculum arrangements. Throughout Don was always helpful, supportive and above all ensured the school’s needs were met in a timely manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending Timeworks to any other school.”

– Rob Downey – Deputy Head of School, The Grange School, Runcorn. (June 2014)

“From the initial meeting where we agreed time-frames, I was in no doubt that Don would fulfil all of my requests. He communicated efficiently throughout the process and would always be around for me to ask any questions, either by phone or email. Responses were quick and Don took great care to teach me everything I needed to know to complete this process alone in the future. Thanks to Don I have a happy group of staff who have no complaints about the timing or content of their timetables this year. All are able to plan with sufficient time in preparation for September.”

– Lucy Dawe – Deputy Headteacher, Denefield School, Reading. (August 2014)

“We have really valued our work with Don on the timetable. He is able to work very effectively with staff and to provide solutions to complex time tabling issues. He is also able to respond quickly to requests and timetable changes. He implements a comprehensive timetable package. He is willing to work alongside staff and to share his expertise. I am delighted with the professional and effective service that Don offers.”

– Helen Salmon – Principal, Tavistock College. (August 2013)

“We have worked with Don this year in order to introduce two novices in our school to timetabling. The result has been possibly the best and earliest timetable we have ever had and two people who are now competent and confident to take on the role in school.”

– Paul Trickett – Headteacher, Rhyddings Business and Enterprise School, Oswaldtwistle. (June 2013)

“Don did a fantastic job preparing our timetable. He took time to really get to know our requirements and was very patient throughout the process. He was always available to talk through issues, met all deadlines and supported us in the beding in period in September. I would whole heartedly recommend Timeworks to anyone who was looking to out source their timetable provision.”

– Steve Lewis, Deputy Head Teacher, Rushcliffe School, Notts (May 2012).

“I’m delighted with the ongoing support that I personally have received from you and in particular the help you have provided which has gone beyond providing the timetable. We are using Timeworks for the third time. We are delighted with the service provided, including first rate curriculum advice, and the efficient construction of our options groups from raw data. Don consults widely, and has the necessary instruments to ascertain the precise requirements of the Heads of Department, and the Leadership Team. He is always available, and nothing is too much trouble. We have received tremendous support, and all deadlines have been met. The final timetables have contained few split groups, and the distribution of lessons has been excellent. We are very pleased that we out-sourced our timetable to Timeworks, and feel that student achievement will be greatly enhanced, as a result. We fully recommend Timeworks.”

– John Littler, Deputy Head, Northolt High School, Middlesex (Jun 2012).

“Don is a very professional and capable timetabler. He is very adaptable and makes every effort to ensure the needs of each subject are met as fully as possible.”

– Richard Clough, Assistant Headteacher, Abbey Grange Academy School, Leeds (July 2012).

“Don has made writing the timetable for a large school stress free. He has supported a new timetabling team, through the entire process from the setting up of a revised curriculum model, heads of department questionnaires, right through to an exemplary final product. Refinements to the timetable were also made as and when requested. Assistance was given with populating group lists and transfers from Nova T into SIMs. Don is very easy to work with as he is reliable, flexible and accommodating. Communication was also efficiently and effectively maintained via telephone and email. Overall, Don’s calmness, efficiency and considerable expertise throughout the whole process, was much appreciated and has meant a very smooth start to the school year for us – without any timetable issues! Thank you.”

– Joan Deslandes, Head Teacher, Kingsford Community School, Beckton, London (July 2012 )

“Dartford Technology College secured the services of Mr McGillivray to build our timetable in Nova T6, moving from a two week to a one week timetable for September 2012. Mr McGillivray was a confident and very pleasant man. He kept calm throughout the process, working closely with our Data Manager both in person and over the telephone when required. When the new timetable was trialled at the end of July 2012, all went incredibly smoothly with no issues. We are very grateful to Mr McGillivray for his hard work in helping us to produce the new timetable and look forward to continuing our association with him during the course of the next academic year”.

– Seamus Murphy, Headteacher, Dartford Technology College (August 2012).

“I had the pleasure of working with Timeworks during the bulk of 2012 and I unreservedly recommend them as a preferred partner in school timetable construction. The school had a number of challenging permutations to work through, including the absence of whole days for the timetable, due to outside learning providers and an increase in part time staff. Despite these problems I found the timeworks approach to personalised support, not only engaging but highly productive. I enjoyed the one to one attention and regular communication from their representative Don, either by email or in person. Don would visit the school at a moment’s notice to remedy any particular issues or indeed to reassure us we were on course to hit our June deadline. Moreover once the TT had commenced (on time), Don was again on hand to ease us through the first few weeks and iron out any slight anomalies”.

– Matthew West, Deputy Headteacher, Brayton High School, Selby, Yorks (August 2012)

“St. Peters Catholic School is a large 11 – 18 secondary school that engaged Timeworks to construct its timetable for the 20-12/13 Academic year. Don McGillivray from Timeworks has been a great assistance throughout the whole process. He produced his first timetable in February 2012 which enabled lead subject tutors and leadership team time to review, adjust and therefore agree the curriculum offer. One of the main strengths of Timeworks is the experience they bring to producing a timetable gained through liaising with schools throughout the country. I would recommend Timeworks to any school who are seeking an efficient, effective alternative to timetable solutions.”

– G C McColgan, Deputy Headteacher, St. Peters Catholic School, Solihull (August 2012)